Scorpio Books
HomeOnline StoreSearch StoreContact UsAbout UsBook AwardsNewsletterEvents

You are in: Fiction : General Fiction
Shopping cart is empty.

'
Antarctica and Arctic
Architecture
Art
Biography
Business
Childcare
Antarctica and Arctic
Building
General Architecture
Houses
Interiors
Urban Planning
Alternative Energy
Art by Artist
Art General
New Zealand Art and Photography
Graphic Design
Clip Art
Calligraphy
Collectiables and Antiques
Fantasy Art
Art Techniques
Art History and Theory
Autobiography
Biography
NZ Biography
Careers
Company Histories
Finance and Investment
General Business
Management
Marketing and Sales
NZ and Australian
Small Businesses
Thinking Learning and Communication
Birth and Babies
General Childcare
Sexual Abuse
Childrens
Classics
Computing
Cooking
Crafts
Diaries
Drama and Dance
Essays
Fashion
Vouchers
Featured
Picture Books
Poetry and Fairy Tales
Childrens Fiction
Childrens NZ
Board Books
Childrens Games
Non Fiction
General Computing
General Cooking
New Zealand Cooking
Vegetarian
Vegan
Special Diets
Foodwriting
Wine and Other Drinks
Celtic
Ceramics
Floral
General Crafts
Glass
Metalwork
Paper
Textiles
Woodworking
Dance
General Drama
Playscripts
Stagecraft
Essays
Fashion
Best Sellers
Featured Books
Classics
Diaries 2021
Fiction
Film
Fitness and Sport
Foreign Language
Games and Puzzles
Gardening
Gender
Graphic Novels
Vouchers
General Fiction
Mystery and Crime
NZ Fiction
Classics
Horror
Short Story Anthologies
Romance
General Film
Filmmaking
Cycling
General Fitness and Sport
Yoga and Stretching
Tai Chi
Martial Arts
Learn to Speak
Foreign Language
General Gardening
Fruit & Vegetables
Garden Landscape
Organic Gardens
Self Sufficiency and Farming
Japanese and Bonsai
Gender Studies
Women
Men
Gay
Lesbian
General
Manga
Board Games and Party Games
Roleplaying and War Game Guides
Puzzles, Crosswords and Game Rules
Chess and Traditional Games
Health
History
Humour
Inspirational
Literary Criticism
Music
Mythology
Addiction
Beauty
Body and Mind
Eating Disorders
Feng Shui
General Health
Herbs
Mind and Vibrational
Nutrition
Oriental Medicine and Reflexology
Special Diets
Womens Health
General History
Military History
Cartoons
Fiction
General Humour
Inspirational
General Literary Criticism
Blues
Classical and Opera
General Music
Jazz
Music Theory
Pop Rock and Country
General Mythology
Nautical
New Zealand
Occult
Outdoors and Mountaneering
General Nautical
NZ General
NZ Fiction
NZ Pictorial
NZ Recreational and Outdoors
NZ Biography and Autobiography
NZ History
NZ Maori
NZ Sociology and Politics
NZ Natural History
NZ Birds
Alchemy
Astral Travel
Astrology
Channeling
Conspiracy Theories
Crystals
Dowsing
Egypt
I Ching
Kabbalah
Magik and Wicca
Mindpower
Numerology
Occult
Palmistry
Parapsychology
Prediction and Divination
Psychic
Reincarnation
Runes
Tarot
Mountaneering
Outdoors
NZ Recreation and Outdoors
Fishing
Pets
Philosophy
Photography
Poetry
Politics and Current Affairs
Psychology
Puzzles and Games
Reference
Relationships
Pets
General Philosophy
General Photography
Photo Technique and Instruction
Photographers
Travel Photography
Anthologies
General Poetry
NZ Poetry
General Politics
Counselling
Death and Grief
Depression and Anxiety
Dreams
Hypnosis
Jungian
Neurolinguistic
Self Help
Stress
Board Games and Party Games
Roleplaying and War Game Guides
Puzzles and Games
Chess and Traditional Games
Thinking Learning and Communications
Atlases
Dictionaires and General Reference
Relationships
Sexuality
Religion
Science
Science Fiction and Fantasy
Social Science
Transport
Travel
Writing Style and Publishing
Young Adults
American Indian and Shamanic
Anthroposophy
Buddhism
Christianity
Gurdjieff and Buspensky
Indian
Judaism
Meditation
Mysticism
Sufi
Taoism and Chinese Philosophy
Theosophy
Astronomy
Biology
Ecology
Flora and Fauna
General Science
Life Sciences
Mathematics
Physics
Physics and Chemistry
General Science Fiction and Fantasy
Gaming & Warhammer
Alternate History
Military SFF
Science Fiction
Fantasy
Urban Fantasy
Paranormal Romance
Steampunk
Anthologies
Star Trek
Dr Who
Zombies
NZ Author
Time Travel
Humorous SFF
Star Wars
Hard Science Fiction
Space Opera
Horror
General Social Science
General Transportation
Travel Guides
Travel Literature
General
Young Adult Fiction




Night Portrait
Morelli, Laura
  • ISBN:
    9780008422714
    Paperback
    In Stock: 2
  • $22.99 
  • Night Portrait



    'Historical fiction at its best' Reader review

    The Tattooist of Auschwitz meets Girl with a Pearl Earring in this gripping, dual-timeline historical novel about one of Leonardo da Vinci's most famous paintings and the woman who fought to save it from the Nazis.

    'Simply a masterpiece... Fans of Kristin Hannah's Nightingale and Anthony Doerr's All the Light We Cannot See will delight in this epic novel' Lori Nelson Spielman

    Between 1939 and 1943, the Nazis stole every known painting by Leonardo Da Vinci, imprisoning the original owners or worse. This is the story of the most infamous of these thefts...

    Munich, 1939

    In fear of the brutal Nazi regime, art conservator Edith Becker is forced to find one of the world's most priceless works of art and hand it over to none other than Hans Frank - the Butcher of Poland.
    Confronted by the horrors she witnesses in Poland and risking her own life, Edith tries to hide her own small acts of resistance - and avoid the unpredictable gaze of Frank himself.

    Milan, 1492

    Cecilia Gallerani, the beautiful mistress of the Duke of Milan must fight for her place in the palace-and against those who want her out. Sitting before Leonardo da Vinci, she becomes the subject of his most ambitious portrait to date.

    Two women, separated by 500 years, are swept up in the tide of history as one painting stands at the centre of their quests for their own destinies.

    Readers absolutely love The Night Portrait:

    'A truly original novel that has earned its place among my favourite works of historical fiction' Jennifer Robson

    'I found myself racing through the last chapters to see how the story ended and would definitely recommend this book to historical fiction lovers' Joanne

    'Gives us so many heartbreaking and yet wonderful experiences...an excellent book that and kept me glued to the pages' Angela

    'Remarkable...brushstrokes of magic here' Book Trail

    'Breathtaking...this isn't just another book about WWII' Sarah

    'A fascinating dual timeline novel with its roots in reality...compelling' Julia

    'The opulence of the Renaissance period was well juxtaposed with the death and destruction during WWII' Michele

    Author: Morelli, Laura
    Publication date: 10/12/2020
    Imprint: One More Chapter
    Pages: 400