Scorpio Books
HomeOnline StoreSearch StoreContact UsAbout UsBook AwardsNewsletterEvents

You are in: Featured : All
Shopping cart is empty.

'
Antarctica and Arctic
Architecture
Art
Biography
Business
Childcare
Antarctica and Arctic
Building
General Architecture
Houses
Interiors
Urban Planning
Alternative Energy
Art by Artist
Art General
New Zealand Art and Photography
Graphic Design
Clip Art
Calligraphy
Collectiables and Antiques
Fantasy Art
Art Techniques
Art History and Theory
Autobiography
Biography
NZ Biography
Careers
Company Histories
Finance and Investment
General Business
Management
Marketing and Sales
NZ and Australian
Small Businesses
Thinking Learning and Communication
Birth and Babies
General Childcare
Sexual Abuse
Childrens
Classics
Computing
Cooking
Crafts
Diaries
Drama and Dance
Essays
Fashion
Vouchers
Featured
Picture Books
Poetry and Fairy Tales
Childrens Fiction
Childrens NZ
Board Books
Childrens Games
Non Fiction
General Computing
General Cooking
New Zealand Cooking
Vegetarian
Vegan
Special Diets
Foodwriting
Wine and Other Drinks
Celtic
Ceramics
Floral
General Crafts
Glass
Metalwork
Paper
Textiles
Woodworking
Dance
General Drama
Playscripts
Stagecraft
Essays
Fashion
Best Sellers
Featured Books
Classics
Diaries 2021
Fiction
Film
Fitness and Sport
Foreign Language
Games and Puzzles
Gardening
Gender
Graphic Novels
Vouchers
General Fiction
Mystery and Crime
NZ Fiction
Classics
Horror
Short Story Anthologies
Romance
General Film
Filmmaking
Cycling
General Fitness and Sport
Yoga and Stretching
Tai Chi
Martial Arts
Learn to Speak
Foreign Language
General Gardening
Fruit & Vegetables
Garden Landscape
Organic Gardens
Self Sufficiency and Farming
Japanese and Bonsai
Gender Studies
Women
Men
Gay
Lesbian
General
Manga
Board Games and Party Games
Roleplaying and War Game Guides
Puzzles, Crosswords and Game Rules
Chess and Traditional Games
Health
History
Humour
Inspirational
Literary Criticism
Music
Mythology
Addiction
Beauty
Body and Mind
Eating Disorders
Feng Shui
General Health
Herbs
Mind and Vibrational
Nutrition
Oriental Medicine and Reflexology
Special Diets
Womens Health
General History
Military History
Cartoons
Fiction
General Humour
Inspirational
General Literary Criticism
Blues
Classical and Opera
General Music
Jazz
Music Theory
Pop Rock and Country
General Mythology
Nautical
New Zealand
Occult
Outdoors and Mountaneering
General Nautical
NZ General
NZ Fiction
NZ Pictorial
NZ Recreational and Outdoors
NZ Biography and Autobiography
NZ History
NZ Maori
NZ Sociology and Politics
NZ Natural History
NZ Birds
Alchemy
Astral Travel
Astrology
Channeling
Conspiracy Theories
Crystals
Dowsing
Egypt
I Ching
Kabbalah
Magik and Wicca
Mindpower
Numerology
Occult
Palmistry
Parapsychology
Prediction and Divination
Psychic
Reincarnation
Runes
Tarot
Mountaneering
Outdoors
NZ Recreation and Outdoors
Fishing
Pets
Philosophy
Photography
Poetry
Politics and Current Affairs
Psychology
Puzzles and Games
Reference
Relationships
Pets
General Philosophy
General Photography
Photo Technique and Instruction
Photographers
Travel Photography
Anthologies
General Poetry
NZ Poetry
General Politics
Counselling
Death and Grief
Depression and Anxiety
Dreams
Hypnosis
Jungian
Neurolinguistic
Self Help
Stress
Board Games and Party Games
Roleplaying and War Game Guides
Puzzles and Games
Chess and Traditional Games
Thinking Learning and Communications
Atlases
Dictionaires and General Reference
Relationships
Sexuality
Religion
Science
Science Fiction and Fantasy
Social Science
Transport
Travel
Writing Style and Publishing
Young Adults
American Indian and Shamanic
Anthroposophy
Buddhism
Christianity
Gurdjieff and Buspensky
Indian
Judaism
Meditation
Mysticism
Sufi
Taoism and Chinese Philosophy
Theosophy
Astronomy
Biology
Ecology
Flora and Fauna
General Science
Life Sciences
Mathematics
Physics
Physics and Chemistry
General Science Fiction and Fantasy
Gaming & Warhammer
Alternate History
Military SFF
Science Fiction
Fantasy
Urban Fantasy
Paranormal Romance
Steampunk
Anthologies
Star Trek
Dr Who
Zombies
NZ Author
Time Travel
Humorous SFF
Star Wars
Hard Science Fiction
Space Opera
Horror
General Social Science
General Transportation
Travel Guides
Travel Literature
General
Young Adult Fiction




Fossil Men: The Quest for the Oldest Skeleton and the Origins of Humankind
Pattison, Kermit
  • ISBN:
    9780063055476
    Paperback
    In Stock: 2
  • $39.99 
  • Fossil Men: The Quest for the Oldest Skeleton and the Origins of Humankind



    "A rip-roaring tale, Fossil Men is one of those rare books that can be a prism through which to view the world, exposing the fabric of the Earth and illuminating the Tree of Life." -New York Times bestselling author Peter Nichols


    A behind-the-scenes account of the shocking discovery of the skeleton of "Ardi," a human ancestor far older than Lucy - a find that shook the world of paleoanthropology and radically altered our understanding of human evolution.

    In 1994, a team led by fossil-hunting legend Tim White-"the Steve Jobs of paleoanthropology"-uncovered the bones of a human ancestor in Ethiopia's Afar region. Radiometric dating of nearby rocks indicated the skeleton, classified as Ardipithecus ramidus, was 4.4 million years old, more than a million years older than "Lucy," then the oldest known human ancestor. The findings challenged many assumptions about human evolution-how we started walking upright, how we evolved our nimble hands, and, most significantly, whether we were descended from an ancestor that resembled today's chimpanzee-and repudiated a half-century of paleoanthropological orthodoxy.

    Fossil Men is the first full-length exploration of Ardi, the fossil men who found her, and her impact on what we know about the origins of the human species. It is a scientific detective story played out in anatomy and the natural history of the human body. Kermit Pattison brings into focus a cast of eccentric, obsessive scientists, including one of the world's greatest fossil hunters, Tim White-an exacting and unforgiving fossil hunter whose virtuoso skills in the field were matched only by his propensity for making enemies; Gen Suwa, a Japanese savant who sometimes didn't bother going home at night to devote more hours to science; Owen Lovejoy, a onetime creationist-turned-paleoanthropologist; Berhane Asfaw, who survived imprisonment and torture to become Ethiopia's most senior paleoanthropologist and who fought for African scientists to gain equal footing in the study of human origins; and the Leakeys, for decades the most famous family in paleoanthropology.

    An intriguing tale of scientific discovery, obsession and rivalry that moves from the sun-baked desert of Africa and a nation caught in a brutal civil war, to modern high-tech labs and academic lecture halls, Fossil Men is popular science at its best, and a must read for fans of Jared Diamond, Richard Dawkins, and Edward O. Wilson.

    Author: Pattison, Kermit
    Publication date: 19/11/2020
    Imprint: HarperCollins US
    Pages: 512